What is the minimum amount of coverage I must have in Louisiana?
Louisiana Law requires every driver to have automobile liability insurance while driving on Louisiana public roads and highways. The statutory minimum limits of liability insurance in Louisiana are:
– $15,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
– $30,000 for all persons in any one accident
– $25,000 for any one accident
What happens if I do not have auto insurance?
Failure to show proof of insurance when requested may result in fines or a suspended license.
Am I covered by my existing insurance when I rent a car or should I purchase the additional damage waiver that the rental car company recommends?
If you are the named insured on a Louisiana auto policy then the coverage that you purchase for a vehicle travels with you when you rent or borrow a car. So, if you have collision and comprehensive coverage and are involved in an accident or the vehicle is damaged then your policy would respond as if it were your car. Your liability limits will also travel with you. This only applies to the named insured (owners) listed at the top of the policy, not all drivers listed. Additionally, any auto insurance that the lender of the car has, for that vehicle, will also follow it, regardless of the operator. This applies to occasional usage only. Someone who has access to your vehicle on a regular basis should be added to your policy.
303 S. Military Rd. Suite 1
Slidell, LA 70461
Click Here to Email Us